The Magic of Ju-Ju

The Magic of Ju-Ju

Release Date: 1967
Label: Impulse!
Catalog: AS 9154
Buy This CD Online


The Magic Of Ju-Ju


You’re What This Day Is All About




Sorry ’Bout That

Recorded at the "Rudy Van Gelder Studio", Englewood Cliffs, NJ, April 26, 1967

Archie Shepp
tenor sax

Martin Banks
trumpet, flugelhorn
Ed Blackwell
rhythm logs
Dennis Charles
Frank Charles
talking drum
Norman Connors
Beaver Harris
Reggie Workman
Mike Zwerin
bass trombone, trombone

The Magic of Ju-Ju is an album by Archie Shepp released on Impulse! Records in 1967. The album contains tracks recorded by Shepp, Martin Banks, Mike Zwerin, Reggie Workman, Norman Connors, Frank Charles, Dennis Charles, Ed Blackwell and Beaver Harris in April 1967. The Allmusic review by Al Campbell states of the title track "Shepp’s emotional and fiery tenor takes off immediately, gradually morphing with the five percussionists who perform on instruments including rhythm logs and talking drums. Shepp never loses the initial energy, moving forward like a man possessed as the drumming simultaneously builds into a fury. Upon the final three minutes, the trumpets of Martin Banks and Michael Zwerin make an abrupt brief appearance, apparently to ground the piece to a halt. This is one of Shepp’s most chaotic yet rhythmically hypnotic pieces".
Campbell, A. Allmusic Review.

Site Contents © 2009-12 ArchieShepp.net - All Rights Reserved - CREDITS